Evening at the zoo


I lived in Africa until I was forty seven. In my early years my late father was a game hunter. When I grew up and had my own children we all loved holidaying in the Kruger National Game Park. I biggest in Africa. We drove through the park at our leisure and saw wild animals roaming free. Free as nature intended. We were nearly attacked by a mother elephant, accosted by an ostrich and had our car sided by a white rhinoceros. In all the years we visited the Kruger National Park, we still never saw it all. We then came to UK and did not want to visit a zoo. So never did. Until yesterday. What a truly surprising evening at Banham Zoo. Surprising because, although the animals weren’t free, they were not enclosed in tiny, unkempt enclosures,but in beautiful clean, interesting surroundings. The interesting thing, is the care taken to keep the animals comfortable and occupied with interesting toys and imaginative ways of presenting the animals food.

I which my carrots looked that yummy.

I which my carrots looked that yummy.

It’s not a small park, we spent four wonderful hours walking looking and appreciating all the hard work and dedication that goes into caring for the animals.

Be careful of the crocodile.

Be careful of the crocodile.

IMG_00000452 It’s worth a visit

This lion was allowed to roam free.

This lion was allowed to roam free.

IMG_00000425 IMG_00000426

Please leave a Reply with any thoughts. Thanks

