We were joined at the belly button.


My husband is my soul mate.

I’ve just read a blog that started off with, “My husband is not my soul mate.” This is so sad!

What does soul mate mean? My soul’s mate? My mate’s soul? My husband’s mates with my soul? My husband’s soul is my mate.

Let’s stop there and think about the true or Historic meaning.

In Greek mythology, the androgynous humans, born with both male and female genitalia were said to have threatened the Gods superiority. As a result, Zeus – yes the same God who destroyed the Titans with lightening – decided it was not a good idea to keep humans this way.

We were joined.

We were joined.

He couldn’t kill them as they gave offerings to the Gods, so he split them in half.

They split us in two.

They split us in two.

This made the humans very sad, and in no mood to give any offerings at all!
Apollo, then sewed two parts together, but this time each human only had one genitalia. The belly button being the only remaining proof of their original form.

The humans were still sad.
The humans were still sad as they longed for their original half and it was only in death would their souls be reunited and they would finally be ‘ soul mates.’

We all associate the phrase “soul mate” with love, destiny or any description used to describe long-term commitment. And, my thoughts on the matter is that, you can only know if someone is your soul mate if you have lived, slept, eaten, been happy, been sad, the list is endless, for a life time.

I have been married to my soul mate for 38 years and, I am sure that at one time we must have shared a belly button.

Please leave a Reply with any thoughts. Thanks

